Sherwood Rangers

Date Unit Higher Formation
. . .
. . .
. The Nottinghamshire Yeomanry (Sherwood Rangers) .
1947.01.01 Reconstituted in T.A. with HQ at Carlton, Nottingham or Newark as an armoured regiment, equipped with Comet Tanks: affiliated to 17th/21st Lancers .
. ? Squadron at Newark .
. B Squadron at Mansfield .
. C Squadron at Worksop .
. D Squadron at Retford .
1951.09.01 Redesignated The Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry RAC (TA) . 
1961 Briefly converted into a reconnaissance regiment before being reconverted once again into an Armoured Regiment equipped with Centurion Tanks .
1967.04.01 Disbanded and concurrently reconstituted at two units: .
. B (Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry) Squadron, The Royal Yeomanry Regiment, formed in TAVR II at Carlton, Nottingham .
. The Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry (Territorials), formed in TAVR III with HQ at Newark .
. A Squadron at Retford .
. C Squadron at Newark .
1969.01.01 TAVR III element reduced to cadre as The Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry at Nottingham, sponsored by The Royal Yeomanry Regiment .
1971.04.01 Reorganised as two squadrons: .
. B (Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry) Squadron, The Royal Yeomanry Regiment, at Carlton, Nottingham .
. A (Sherwood Rangers) Squadron, 3rd (V) Battalion, The Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment, at Retford, reconstituted from cadre in infantry role .
1975 A Squadron redesignated A (Sherwood Rangers) Company .
1992.04.01 B Squadron transferred to The Queen's Own Yeomanry .
1999.07.01 B Squadron transferred as S (Sherwood Rangers Yeomanry) Squadron, The Royal Yeomanry (at Nottingham); A Company disbanded .
. . .
. . .

Previous page: Scottish Horse/Yeomanry
Next page: Shropshire Yeomanry