Mercian Yeomanry

Date Unit Higher Formation
. . .
. . .
. The Mercian Yeomanry .
1971.11.01 Formed as the fourth yeomanry regiment in the Army by reconstitution as squadrons of old regiments which had been reduced to cadre in 1969 .
. A (Warwickshire and Worcestershire Yeomanry) Squadron at Coventry and Stourbridge, formed from The Queen's Own Warwickshire and Worcestershire Yeomanry, plus X Troop at Birmingham from The Warwickshire Regiment RA .
. B (Staffordshire Yeomanry) Squadron at Tipton and Stafford and Lichfield .
. C (Shropshire Yeomanry) Squadron at Shrewsbury, Oswestry and Wellington .
1971.10.21 Title confirmed as The Mercian Yeomanry, retroactive to 1 April 1971 .
1973.05.25 Redesignated The Queen's Own Mercian Yeomanry .
1982 Regiment re-roled as a light Reconnaissance Regiment in the Royal Armoured Corps .
1988.02.09 D (Home Service Force) Squadron formed at Telford by rebadging of coy from RAOC .
1992.11.01 As result of Options for Change the regiment amalgamated with The Duke of Lancaster'€™s Own Yeomanry to form The Royal Mercian and Lancastrian Yeomanry .
. Squadrons redesignated as A Squadron, B Squadron and HQ Squadron The Royal Mercian and Lancastrian Yeomanry respectively .
. . .
. . .